top of page

Writing From the Overflow


Learning about the Prince of my heart.

I am convinced that the longing to write was born in me. As long as I can remember, I wanted to write and my imagination was full of ideas. I still have notebooks of stories I wrote as a girl. They are pretty sappy and filled with similar stories of dreamy princes who would love my heroine forever. I remember reading one particular story out loud at a sleepover with other giggling girls who also longed for their princes.

During my girlhood, I went to vacation Bible school at a local church. An older gentleman in our neighborhood drove his old station wagon around and picked up as many children as he could take to vacation Bible school. I learned amazing Bible Stories. When I got home I raked pine straw from a shaded area of our yard to make a church. Gathering all the children I could into my make shift church, I told them about Jesus.

The Prince who patiently waited.

I never outgrew that longing to tell people about Jesus. I just didn't have any training to do it. The longing to tell about Jesus has grown as I experienced life and learned some things along the way. The hard way mostly. In my years of searching, I see now that the container of my heart was so empty that there was no man, family member, career move, talent or anything else that would fill it. I tried and God was patient while I drank from one empty cup to another. Nothing really satisfied until I came to see that Jesus Christ is the Prince I longed for. Only He can fill my needs for love, security, significance and give me the acceptance I longed for. No mortal man has that much power and even though some men try hard, they are only human. God created us with needs that only He can fill and wants to live in relationship with us. Now, after my bucket is filled with God's love, I can love others from the overflow. It took me years to realize that this is healthy love. Now I can write and speak from the overflow of God's love. Now I have something to say that will help others along the way.

How about you? What is your story about your calling? I would love to hear it!, Bobbie

Inew writing group I was encouraged to write for a contest within the organization and amazingly, I won... It was so affirming to wwinwin thatme that judges felt that there was

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page